Our Executive

Department of Employment Executive Officers

Kerri Hartland


BA, BEc (UQ)

Kerri Hartland was appointed Secretary of the Department of Jobs and Small Business in  September 2017. Before that she was Deputy Secretary, Business Enabling Services at Department of Finance. Kerri has worked in eight different Commonwealth departments and agencies, including as Chief Information Officer of the then Department of Industry, Science and Resources; Deputy Secretary of the Department of Human Services, and Deputy Director-General of the Australian  Security Intelligence Organisation.

Martin Hehir

Deputy Secretary, Employment


Martin oversees the Employment Cluster, which contributes to Outcome 1. Martin brings a wealth of experience from across the ACTand has worked as a deputy secretary in Australian Government departments since 2012. Martin joined the Department of Employment in August 2014.


Jill Charker

Deputy Secretary, Corporate

BPsych (Hons I), PhD, EMPA, Grad Dip App Fin

Jill joined the Department of Jobs and Small Business in August 2017 as Deputy Secretary Corporate. The Corporate Cluster contributes to the development of organisational capability and supports the effective functioning of the department. Jill brings a wealth of experience from the senior positions she has held in corporate, program and service delivery areas across the APS.

Sandra Parker PSM

Deputy Secretary, Workplaces and Small Business

BEd (UTas)

Sandra leads the Workplaces and Small Business Cluster contributing to Outcome 2. She began working for the Commonwealth in 1998. Before her current role, Sandra was deputy secretary at the former Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations with responsibility for employment services, disability employment and income support policy.