Foundation Skills for Your Future Program


The Australian Government is providing $62.4 million over four years, to 30 June 2023, to support eligible Australians develop their Language, Literacy, Numeracy and Digital literacy (LLND) skills to support them to undertake further education and training, remain in employment or change jobs.

The Australian Government’s $52.5 million Foundation Skills for Your Future Program (the Program) and the $9.9 million Remote Community Pilots initiatives are part of the $585 million Skills Package Delivering Skills for Today and Tomorrow.

Foundation Skills for Your Future Program

Eligible employed or recently unemployed Australians can undertake free accredited and non-accredited training to improve their language, literacy, numeracy and digital (LLND) skills to support them in the workplace.

Employers seeking to develop the skills of their workforce to meet current and future skills needs can contact one of the approved Service Providers in their region to develop a project to deliver LLND skills training that meets both their and their employee needs.

Foundation Skills for Your Future Program projects

The Program provides flexible training options for eligible participants, aimed at up to Certificate II level, to support participant’s LLND skills learning needs. Approved Service Providers can submit applications to deliver the following types of projects:

  • Employer Workplace Training projects: An employer or industry-specific workplace training project developed in collaboration with an employer or industry organisation to deliver tailored accredited and or/non-accredited LLND training for employees, and
  • Personalised Training: a client centered approach providing tailored accredited and/or non-accredited LLND training through flexible delivery models to accommodate individual learning needs.

Service Providers delivering projects are required to assess participant’s LLN skills using the Australian Core Skills Framework (ACSF) and digital literacy skills using the Digital Literacy Skills Framework (DLSF) . Service Providers will identify the participant’s LLND skills needs and develop appropriate workplace and personalised training, using the frameworks to assess the benefits for participants.

Panel of approved Service Providers

The Department of Education, Skills and Employment has established a panel of pre-approved Service Providers to deliver the new Program.

Service Providers



Contact us

For further information contact a Service Provider in your region or email