G20 Employment


The Group of Twenty (G20) is the leading forum for international economic cooperation. Each year G20 Leaders and Ministers meet to discuss ways to strengthen the global economy.

Jobs are central to the G20 agenda. The Department of Employment, Skills, Small and Family Business (formerly Department of Jobs and Small Business) represents Australia in the G20 Employment Working Group, developing advice for G20 Labour and Employment Ministers and G20 Leaders on a wide range of policy issues.

The G20 membership comprises 19 countries plus the European Union. Members meet regularly to discuss ways to promote more inclusive economic growthand review progress on policy commitments.

The G20 Employment Working Group meets several times a year, culminating in the annual G20 Labour and Employment Ministerial meeting.

Australia hosted the G20 Labour and Employment Ministerial Meeting in Melbourne in 2014, with one of the major outcomes being an agreement on policy priorities for boosting female participation in the workforce and a goal to reduce the gender gap in participation rates by 2025.

Most recently, G20 ministers met in Argentina in September 2018, with commitments including:

  • promoting skills and lifelong learning;
  • promoting labour formalisation and decent work;
  • strengthening efforts and international cooperation on eliminating child labour and related matters;
  • ensuring social protection systems adapt in the context of the future of work; and
  • better labour market integration of persons with disabilities.

Japan will host the G20 in 2019.

Australia’s progress on its commitments can be found in the 2018 G20 Employment Plan; while G20 Labour and Employment Ministerial Declarations can be found on the G20 website.

Want to know more?