G20 Taskforce on Employment membership

Outline of the membership of the G20 Taskforce on Employment and who the taskforce works with.

Participation in the G20 Taskforce on Employment is open to government representatives from G20 member and guest countries.

G20 members represent around 85 per cent of global gross domestic product, over 75 per cent of global trade, and two-thirds of the world’s population.

The members of the G20 are Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, the United Kingdom, the United States and European Union.

In 2014 the guest countries are: Mauritania, as the 2014 chair of the African Union; Myanmar, as the 2014 Chair of ASEAN; New Zealand; Senegal, representing the New Partnership for Africa's Development; Singapore; and Spain (permanent invitee).

The 2014 G20 Taskforce on Employment is co-chaired by Australia and Turkey as the current and incumbent presidencies.

The taskforce works closely with international organisations, such as the International Labour Organisation, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development and the World Bank. Members of these organisations are invited to attend all of the taskforce’s meetings, in addition to members of the G20’s five engagement groups (the B20, L20, C20, Y20 and T20).

The taskforce also works in collaboration with other G20 working groups, such as the Framework Working Group, helping to maintain a close connection between the employment and growth agendas of the G20.